10 House Republicans voted to impeach Trump. How is their condition now?

This story was originally published on August 9 but was updated on August 16 to include the results of two House races involving current representatives Jaime Herrera Beutler and Liz Cheney.

Former President Donald Trump vowed revenge on 10 House Republicans who voted on January 6 for allegedly inciting the Capitol attack have been put on trial in this season’s key primary election.

The second House impeachment vote against Trump was the most bipartisan vote ever after 10 Republicans broke away from their party and joined impeachment with 222 other House Democrats.

Trump has devoted much of his presidency to purge the GOP of someone he sees as a betrayer.

Four of those 10 Republicans are retiring from Congress while the other six faced re-election bids including primaries in which Trump is often older than his actual opponent.

Here’s how those Republicans are doing now.

Rep. Liz Cheney, R-Vyo

Cheney has been the former president’s most vocal critic and lost her re-election bid against Trump-backed Harriet Heijman in Tuesday’s primary election.

He currently serves as a deputy chairman of the January 6 committee investigating Trump’s role in the Capitol attack and is one of two House Republicans on the committee.

Conservatives can’t be both faithful to Donald Trump and faithful to the Constitution she said in a location in late June. He has repeatedly called on the Republican Party to move on from Trump believing he is a threat to American democracy.

Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Wash

Herrera Beutler admitted last week that her rival Joe Kent who supported Trump defeated him by less than 1,000 votes.

Kent was one of eight opponents after voting to impeach the former president and one of three to advance false claims about Trump’s 2020 election.

Rep. Peter Meijer, R-Mitch.

Meijer is the most recent impeachment pro-House Republican who lost a re-election bid to a Trump-backed challenger.

The new congressman lost to John Gibbs, a former Department of Housing and Urban Development official during Trump’s presidency. Gibbs has reiterated Trump’s baseless claims about the 2020 election.

Rep. Dan Newhouse, R-Wash.

A pro-impeachment House Republican from Newhouse, Washington, successfully defied a challenge from Trump-backed Lauren Culp who has backed Trump’s false claims of election fraud.

Rep. Tom Rice, R-Sc.

In South Carolina, pro-impeachment House Republican Tom Rice was defeated by challenger Russell Fry in the June primary. Fry gained Trump’s support in large part because of Rice’s condemnation of the former president.

Rep. David Valladao, R-California.

Valladao is the only pro-impeachment House Republican not to face a Trump-backed primary challenger this election season.

Representative Anthony Gonzalez, R-Ohio

Gonzalez was the first of four House Republicans to declare plans to resign after their reprimand votes.

Rep. Adam Keisinger, R-Ill.

Keisinger is the only other Republican on the January 6 committee; Since announcing his retirement he has consistently criticized Trump.

Rep. John Katko, R-NY.

Katko was the third House Republican to report his retirement after the denunciation vote refering to a longing to invest more energy with his loved ones.

Rep. Fred Upton, R-Mitch.

Upton was the last of four House Republicans who refused to seek re-election after voting to impeach Trump. The best stories has a last chapter. It’s me Upton said while announcing his retirement on the House floor in April.

Leave a Comment